Jesus Piece

JesusPiece

jesuspiece3

I recently just finished a painting for a good friend of mine, who also happens to be our church’s pastor. The picture depicts Jesus hanging on the cross, after being tortured and beaten. It is done in acrylic on a wood birch panel. The words circling his head read “My grace is sufficient for you”, which refers to a verse in the bible

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” (2 Corinthians 12:9)

A Little Insight into the Piece

Instead of depicting Jesus as having a small withered frame, I choose to give him some muscle tone. I mean, he was a carpenter after all and I can’t imagine someone who worked with their hands, sculpting and carving away at wood on the daily, being one without some kind of bulk to them. (let us not forget he also did some table flipping in the temple, which I imagine wasn’t some DIY table from IKEA)

Passion-Golgotha-34 (Depiction of Jesus hanging on the cross – Storyboard from Passion of the Christ)

I also painted the crown of thorn in gold, as well as the “halo” surrounding his head. The biggest inspiration behind this was a Game of Thrones cover I saw while browsing a Target  electronics section. The work of Aaron Nagel can also be cited as a big inspiration to elements in this piece as well as a song by rapper Wale called “Golden Salvation“.

2725_Game-of-Thrones-season-2-CrownGame of Thrones – I’ve been told I NEED to watch this show.

4430389189_58a056ca45_oAaron Nagel’s work is absolutely incredible. I will warn you, it is graphic, but if you can get past that, you will be blown away.

I’ve spent a considerable amount of time working on this piece. This honestly may be the piece I’ve spent the most time on. Even now, am looking at everything that is wrong with it and analyzing what I should and shouldn’t have been included. Thankfully, I’ve gotten a good amount of kudos while it was in progress.

This entry was posted in Art, Christianity, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jesus Piece

  1. Anya says:

    Great job Ian!

Leave a Reply

