Selfies

I finally finished the self portrait I was working on for a group show going on in a local gallery. I named the piece, #Renaissance #Selfie. The title pokes fun at the fact that today, one can easily create a self portrait of themselves, mostly via smartphone, and that at one point in history, self portraits were restricted to the elite, those considered royalty. Isn’t technology great?

Self-portraitUnfortunately for me, it was not one of the ones chosen for the event. I’ll admit, I was a little bummed when I got the news. I realize I’m no Chuck Close, but I was pretty proud of this one. Needless to say, I learned a lesson in accepting rejection. Once I was done cleaning up after the pity party I had thrown for myself, I started working on a portrait, a friend of mine commissioned me to do.

self-portrait2Working on these portraits was definitely a lot of fun, and I guess in the end, that’s what really matters…and it also gave me the chance take number of actual selfies, like the one below.

(Courtesy of Snoopify)

doggs

This entry was posted in Art, life, Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Selfies

  1. Josh Sousa says:

    You are a great artist a d I’m very proud of you.

Leave a Reply

